Previous World Cup Winners

The FIFA World cup, more simply know as the World Cup is the biggest sporting spectacle in the world.  It’s been held every 4 years since it’s since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of the Second World War.



The World Cup is the most prestigious association football tournament in the world, as well as the most widely viewed and followed sporting event in the world, exceeding even the Olympic Games; the cumulative audience of all matches of the 2006 World Cup was estimated to be 26.29 billion with an estimated 715.1 million people watching the final match, a ninth of the entire population of the planet.

Top World Cup goal scorers through it’s history


The tournament was increased to 24 teams in 1982 and expanded to 32 teams in 1988.   On 10 January 2017, FIFA confirmed the 2026 World Cup will have 48 finalist teams.

Germany are the reining champions, winning their fourth title at the 2014 tournament in Brazil.  With the 2018 final happening this Sunday it’s going to be either France or Croatia!  But for now here’s a run down of all the previous world cup winners and host nations.

 The most expensive transfers ever in football 


Brazil – 5

Germany/West Germany – 4

Italy – 4

Argentina – 2

Uruguay – 2

Spain – 1

France – 2

England -1

 The 10 greatest footballers of all time




Host Country              Winner 

Uruguay 1930: Uruguay def. Argentina 4-2

Italy 1934: Italy def. Czechoslovakia 2-1 (ET)

France 1938: Italy def. Hungary 4-2

Brazil 1950: Uruguay def. Brazil 2-1

Switzerland 1954: West Germany def. Hungary 3-2

Sweden 1958: Brazil def. Sweden 5-2

Chile 1962: Brazil def. Czechoslovakia 3-1

England 1966: England def. West Germany 4-2 (ET)

Mexico 1970: Brazil def. Italy 4-1€‹

We look at the negative affect diving has on football

West Germany 1974: West Germany def. the Netherlands 2-1

Argentina 1978: Argentina def. the Netherlands 3-1 (ET)

Spain 1982: Italy def. West Germany 3-1

Mexico 1986: Argentina def. West Germany 3-2

Italy 1990: West Germany def. Argentina 1-0

USA 1994: Brazil def. Italy 0-0 (3-2 PKs)

France 1998: France def. Brazil 3-0

Japan 2002: Brazil def. Germany 2-0

Germany 2006: Italy def. France 1-1 (5-3 PKs)

South Africa 2010: Spain def. the Netherlands 1-0 (ET)

Brazil 2014: Germany def. Argentina 1-0 (ET)

Russia 2018:  France def. Croatia 4-2

The 10 richest football clubs in the world

PledgeSports is the global leader in crowdfunding & sponsorship for sport.

Are you or someone you know raising money for sport? If so, get in touch with us via, or visit and hit €œCreate A Campaign€ to start raising money today!

For all the latest sports news follow PledgeSports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Design by Incredo